Supreme Court of Kenya


Supreme Court of KenyaThe Supreme Court of Kenya is the highest court in Kenya. It is established under Article 163 of the Kenyan Constitution. As the highest court in the nation, its decisions are binding and set precedent on all other courts in the country.

The court comprises the Chief Justice of Kenya, who is the president of the Court, the Deputy Chief Justice of Kenya, who is the deputy to the Chief Justice and the vice-president of the court and five other judges. The Supreme Court is properly constituted for purposes of its proceedings when it has a composition of five judges.

It has exclusive original jurisdiction to hear and determine disputes relating to the elections to the office of President arising under Article 140 and subject to clause (4) and (5) of Article 163 of the Constitution, appellate jurisdiction to hear and determine appeals from the Court of Appeal and any other court or tribunal as prescribed by national legislation.

Source: Kenyan Judiciary

Contact Details

Supreme Court Building
City Hall Way
Tel: +254  20 2221221


Kenya Law records all of the judgments of the Court. Access judgments here.


The Court comprises 7 Justices.

Permanent Seat

Nairobi, Kenya.


5 Justices.