SADC Tribunal (SADC-T)


The SADC Tribunal was established in 1992 by Article 9 of the SADC Treaty as one of the institutions of the Southern African Development Community (“SADC”). It is the Court of Justice of the SADC. Its mandate is to: (i) ensure adherence to and proper interpretation of the SADC Treaty and its subsidiary instruments and to adjudicate upon such disputes as may be referred to it; and (ii) give advisory opinions on such matters as the SADC Summit or the SADC Council may refer to it.

The Summit of Heads of State or Government which is the Supreme Policy Institution of SADC pursuant to Article 4 (4) of the Protocol on Tribunal appointed the Members of the Tribunal during its Summit of Heads of State or Government held in Gaborone, Botswana on 18th August 2005.  The inauguration of the Tribunal and the swearing in of the Members took place on 18th November 2005 in Windhoek, Namibia.  Namibia was designated as the host of the SADC Tribunal and provided the former Turnhalle Building in Windhoek as the seat of the Tribunal.  In November 2005 the former Turnhalle Building was inaugurated as SADC Tribunal House by the Namibian Prime Minister, Honourable Angus Angula. At the same ceremony the 10 Members (Judges) of the Tribunal were sworn in by the Namibian Chief Justice Hon Justice Peter Shivute.

Source: SADC Tribunal

Permanent Seat

Windhoek, Namibia.

Member States

Angola, Botswana, DRC Congo, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Seychelles, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.