Country Profile: Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso is a West African country, bordered by Mali to the west and north, Niger to the east, and Benin, Togo, Ghana and Cote d’Ivoire to the south.

Capital: Ouagadougou

Official language: French

Regional economic community membership: Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD); Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

Supreme law: Constitution of Burkina Faso

Highest court: Supreme Court of Appeals

Human rights commission: National Human Rights Commission of Burkina Faso

Recent human rights report: U.S. State Department 2013 Country Report




Flag_map_of_Africa_(United_Nations) (CC)