Constitutional Court of South Africa


Constitutional CourtThe Constitutional Court of South Africa was established in 1994 by South Africa's first democratic constitution - the interim constitution of 1993. The Court, the key institution of our constitutional democracy, continues to function under the final Constitution of 1996.

The 1993 constitution, agreed upon at multiparty talks, ushered in a legal order based on the concept of constitutional supremacy. From 27 April 1994, the interim constitution became the law's touchstone. And the 11-person court it established became the highest legal authority in the land in all constitutional matters.

Source: Constitutional Court of South Africa

Contact Details

Constitutional Court
1 Hospital Street
Constitution Hill

Tel: +27 11 359-7400

Court Terms

The Court sits during February and March, May, August and September and November of each year.


The Southern African Legal Information Institute (SAFLII) records all judgments of the Court.  Access judgments here.


Constitutional matters and any matter that raises an arguable point of law of general public importance (Section 167(3) of the South African Constitution).


The Court comprises 11 Justices.

Permanent Seat

Constitution Hill, Braamfontein, Johannesburg.



Relevant Documentation