Constitutional Court 2016: Second term preview


03 May 2016 – This morning the Constitutional Court of South Africa began its third term of the year.  The bench will, it seems, be constituted by the ten permanent justices and Bosielo AJ, who is occupying the vacancy left after Justice van der Westhuizen’s retirement.  The Court will hear the following cases:

Tuesday, 03 May 2016: Rural Maintenance (Pty) Ltd v Maluti-Phofung Local Municipality CCT 214/15

Thursday, 05 May 2016: Federation of Governing Bodies of South African Schools v MEC, Gauteng CCT 209/15

Tuesday, 10 May 2016: Trustees for the Time Being of the Children’s Centre Trust v Premier Foods (Pty) Ltd CCT 227/15; Competition Commission v Premier Foods (Pty) Ltd CCT 230/15

Thursday, 12 May 2016: Minister of Police v G CCT 253/15

Tuesday, 17 May 2016: McBride v Minister of Police and Administration CCT 255/15

Thursday, 19 May 2016: City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality v Afriforum CCT 157/15

Tuesday, 24 May 2016: Department of Transport v Tasima (Pty) Ltd CCT 05/16

Thursday, 26 May 2016: South African Social Security Agency v Lion of African Assurance Company Ltd CCT 07/16

Leo Boonzaier

About Leo Boonzaier

Leo is an Editor for the African Legal Centre, and he reports on the Constitutional Court of South Africa. He has BSocSci and LLB degrees from the University of Cape Town and a BCL from the University of Oxford. He has worked as a visiting researcher at the Max Planck Institute for Private Law in Hamburg, Germany, and more recently as a law clerk at the Constitutional Court of South Africa. He is currently a doctoral student at the University of Oxford.